One More Chance and The Mistress (Filipino Movies)

2007

Popoy and Basha are well-known movie characters in the movie “One More Chance” here in the Philippines. The characters were played by  John Llyod Cruz and Bea Alonzo, both amazingly talented when it comes to acting and delivering solid drama lines that will leave you, not only in tears but sobs as well. Like what I always experience.

The movie circled in search of Basha’s “wanting freedom” that led to a break-up of their five year relationship. Popoy on the other hand had a very hard time moving on until she met someone and thought he was in love again, but he was wrong. What was interesting is how they managed to salvage the relationship in the end. It took them a long time but I guess they did was best as matured persons. So in relationship to the movie, I believe that all break-ups are hard, for the one who left and the one that was left. The pain, oh yes that pain. The kind of pain where in you really just wanna jump out of the building in hopes that you die and not feel it again? You’d rather feel the physical one instead of the emotional one.

When my heart was first broken, I literally cannot lift my toothbrush. It WAS so painful. Though I am so over my past, I just cant help but relate to this movie everytime. But now, when I watch it, I can say that the pain was so worth it, like what Popoy said, “Oh eh diba’t ikaw pa nag sabi na baka kaya tayo iniiwan ng mga taong mahal natin kasi baka merong bagong darating na mas-OK na mas mamahalin tayo. Yung taong hindi tayo sasaktan at paaasahin yung nag-iisang tao na mag tatama ng mali sa buhay natin yung lahat ng mali sa buhay mo.” (You were the one who told me that our love ones leave us because someone BETTER will come, who will love us. The person who will not hurt us and make us hopeless, the one person who will correct all the wrongs in our life, all the wrongs in your life.”)

2012

Now, the same on-screen couple released another movie entitled “The Mistress“. I was able to watch it last week and I have to say, they never fail me! Bea Alonzo was so stunning and fresh-looking. John Llyod’s acting skills still left me hanging. He can deliver lines well and with conviction. The plot and script of the story was deep and heartbreaking. From the title itself, you can tell what the movie is all about, infidelity, falling in love and it’s consequences. One great line that I will never forget is “Hindi lahat ng gusto mo, makukuha mo” (“You cannot get all the things that you want)”. SO TRUE!

***Update: For all my Foreign friends, I was on Youtube today and I found this One More Chance Movie with English Translation, please please please watch it if you have time.

3 thoughts on “One More Chance and The Mistress (Filipino Movies)

Leave a Reply

